Jeff Coffin and the Mu'tet

The Mu’tet is led by Jeff Coffin, saxophonist from Dave Matthews Band. Also a composer, educator, and 3x Grammy winner, you likely also know Jeff from his 14 years with the genre-defying Bela Fleck & the Flecktones (1997-2010).

The Mu’tet takes its name from the word ‘mutation’, clearly reflecting Jeff’s idea that music must continue to change and mutate in order to grow.

Coffin strives to expand himself, his band mates and listeners, with music flavored by his wide musical interests. Drawing from the deep wells of African, New Orleans, Indian, funk, jazz, folk, Gypsy, rock, fusion, Brazilian and other styles of music, Coffin sends shockwaves down people’s spines with his fierce soloing and inspiring, memorable compositions. A passionate and curious musician, Coffin is known to use guitar effects on his sax as well as sometimes playing two, count ‘em…two, saxes at the same time!

Jeff Coffin is a 3x Grammy award winner and internationally recognized saxophonist, bandleader, composer and educator and has been traveling the globe since the late 20th Century. From 1997-2010, Coffin was a member of groundbreaking and genre-defying fusion group, Bela Fleck & the Flecktones. In mid 2008, while pulling double duty with the Flecktones later in the year, Jeff began touring with Dave Matthews Band after DMB founding saxophonist LeRoi Moore was injured, and officially joined the group in 2009 following LeRoi’s tragic passing.

The 2012 Mu’tet features an all-star group of musicians:

FELIX PASTORIUS: electric bass (bassist player for the Grammy winning Yellowjackets/son of bass legend Jaco Pastorius)

DERICO WATSON: drums (Victor Wooten Band/George Duke/Larry Carlton/Stanley Clarke/Marcus Miller)

BILL FANNING: trumpet & space trumpet (George Garzone/Jon Faddis/Maria Schneider/George Russell)

CHRIS ‘the Pianimator’ WALTERS: keys (JD Souther)

Top of Artist List